Board and Executive Committee

Martin Dubbeling, The Netherlands (2018-2021)

President – ExCom member

Martin Dubbeling is an urban planner and urban designer specialised in sustainable urban design. In 2013 he founded Connecting Cities, office for research, consultancy, design and communication in sustainable urban and regional planning. Short bio

Pietro Elisei, Italy/Romania (2020-2021)

President-Elect – ExCom member

Town and regional planner, senior researcher and policymaker. He collaborated, as consultant, with ministries, cities and towns all over Europe, holding important positions in international organizations dedicated to urban planning (PLANUM SG, ISOCARP VP). Short bio

Frank D’hondt, Greece/Belgium (2019-2022)

Secretary General – ExCom member

Frank is a freelance city & regional planner, with 30 y. of global experience in designing & conducting participatory strategic planning processes. He advises urban & rural communities and their national & local governments on achieving sustainable urban and territorial development. Short bio.

Elisabeth Belpaire, Belgium/ Switzerland (2020-2023)

ExCom member


Daniele Vettorato, Italy (2020-2023)

ExCom member

Daniele Vettorato leads a research team on urban and regional energy transition at EURAC, Bolzano. He has been invited as lecturer and speaker in more than 50 events, trainings and university courses all over the globe. Short bio

Ali A. Alraouf, Qatar (2019-2022)

Ali A. Alraouf is an architect, urban designer and planner interested in research and practice related to comprehensive sustainable design and urban planning. He published more than 105 journal refereed papers, critical reviews, essays, in addition to books and book chapters. Short bio.

Dushko Bogunovich, New Zealand (2019-2022)

Dushko Bogunovich is an architect, urban designer, town planner and academic, with residence in Auckland, New Zealand. He is currently an adjunct professor at the School of Architecture and Planning at Auckland University. Short bio.

Zeynep Gunay, Turkey (2020-2023)

Zeynep Gunay is Professor of Urbanism in Istanbul Technical University and has been a visiting and research scholar in various international and national institutions. Her major areas of interest are theories and policies in urban conservation and urban renewal.  Short bio

Eric Huybrechts, France (2020-2023)

Milena Ivković, The Netherlands/Serbia (2020-2023)

After receiving MSc degree in architecture in Belgrade, Milena Ivković worked for several renowned Dutch offices. Through her own Rotterdam-based practice Blok74, she develops new formats of pop-up participation in urban planning. Short bio

Shi Nan, China (2020-2023)

Dr. Shi Nan has over 30 years planning experiences specialized in policy analysis and master planning. Shi Nan is the Executive President and Secretary General of Urban Planning Society of China (UPSC), the national academic and professional organization of China. Short bio

Ana Peric, Switzerland/Serbia (2016-2022)

Educated and trained in Belgrade as architect and urban planner, Ana Perić is currently engaged as lecturer and senior researcher at ETH Zurich, with the main interests in the domain of transnational planning and development. Short bio

The Board is the governing body of ISOCARP. It develops policies and proposes these to the Annual General Meeting. Members elect Board members for three years. The President serves one term, all other Board Members are able to serve for two terms. The President, Secretary General and three other members of the Board form the Executive Committee, which is charged with the daily general management of the society.

Members of the ISOCARP Executive Committee (ExCom) 2020-2021
Martin Dubbeling – President
Pietro Elisie – President Elect
Frank D’hondt – Secretary General
Daniele Vettorato – Board Member
Elisabeth Belpaire – Board Member

If you have any question to the Executive Committee and/or the Board, kindly contact

Skip to toolbar