General Assembly of Partners (GAP)

GAPThe General Assembly of Partners (GAP) is a special initiative proposed by the World Urban Campaign (WUC) to serve as a broad-based deliberative platform for non-governmental partners in order to develop a consensus for a joined outcome document, The City We Need 2.0, and other related matters for the United Nations Conference on Housing and Sustainable Urban Development (Habitat III).

The first General Assembly of Partners meeting took place on 13 April 2015 with the objective to convene all interested partners to deliberate on the constitution, road map and first joined statement (The City We Need) of the GAP. It was held as a parallel event one day prior to the Second session of the Preparatory Committee meeting for the Habitat III Conference.

The General Assembly of Partners is structured in 14 Constituent Groups: Local and subnational authorities, Research and Academia, Civil Society Organization, Grass-root Organization, Women, Parliamentarians, Children and Youth, Business and Industries, Foundations and Philanthropies, Professionals, Trade Unions and Workers Farmers, Indigenous People, and Media.

ISOCARP is both co-chairing the General Assembly of Partners, represented by Shipra Narang Suri, Vice-President of ISOCARP, and chairing the Constituent Group (CG) of “Professionals”, represented by Secretary-General Didier Vancutsem.

The “Professionals” Constituent Group’s Aim is to contribute substantially to the document “The City We Need 2.0” and to the elaboration of the New Urban Agenda, going to be adopted in Quito, but also to open up the discussion on the role of professionals

All professionals (local, regional, national, international) involved in the city-making process are welcome to join the Constituent Group Professionals and discuss with us the future challenges of cities.

Participate and elaborate the documents, please contact: and

Join the Constituent Group of Professionals by completing the form or  complete the document and send back to Invitation_Letter_Habitat III

Constituent Group Professionals – Core Group members

Didier Vancutsem, Secretary General ISOCARP (Chair)
Ar. Ishtiaque Zahir Titas UIA representative (Co-Chair)
Eric Huybrechts, International affairs IAU IDF
Xavier Crépin, Secretary General AdP
Dyan Currie, President CAP
Jeffrey Soule, Director, International APA
Ismael Fernandez y Mejia, Chairman HPF

Constituent Group Professionals – Members

Pierre Laconte, President FFUE
Oleyumi Akintunde, Urban Planner
Simon Montague, UN – Expert, Montague
Fatemeh Shahani, PhD, La Trobe University
Eva Vanista Lazarevic, Prof  University Belgrade
Oscar Carracedo, Prof National University Singapore
Maria João Pita, Urban Planner France
Ronit Davidovichi Marton, Urban Planner Israel
Oyawole Shola Kayode, Urban Planner Nigeria
Alexandros Tsavdaroglou, Urban Planner Head Planning Department – Schediasmos
Haydee Jacklyn Malubay, Urban Planner Manila
Ibrahim Mneimneh, Principal , URBANE
Yang jianqiang, Professor and Dean Southeast University Nanjing
Markus Appenzeller, Director MLA+
Rafael de Miguel González, EUROGEO, Prof. University of Zaragoza
Alfredo Corbalan, Chief Urban Marketing ADT Brussels
Shi Nan, Secretary General UPSC Urban Planning Society China
Susanne Fischer, Director Division Planning Basel-Stadt
Emanuela GIancola, Urban Planner UiE3 – CIEMAT Madrid
Ahmad Mohamad, Urban Planner Abu Dhabi
Urb. Laila Robledo, Urban Planner Buenos Aires
Abdelwehab A. Alwehab, Urban Planner Baghdad
Dr. K Mchunu Pr Pln, Urban Planner, University of KwaZulu Natal
Johanna N.P. Huang, Business Developer, Atelier3 x DFP Co., Ltd
Nuin-Tara Key, Urban Planner
Ineke Hulshof, Urban Planner NL
Nahuel Beccan Davila, Urban Planner NL
Jos Verweij, Urban Planner NL Verweij
Regitze Marianne Hess, IFHP COO IFHP
Daniel Barrera Fernández, Architect buntarquitectura
Helena Freino, Urban Planner Poland
Stefan Kuhn, Deputy Regional Director ICLEI
Lineu Castello, Urban Planner Brasil University Porto Alegre
PRASANTH C VARUGHESE, B.Arch, M.Arch (Urban Design), M.Plan (Urban and Regional Planning), MBA
Milena Ivkovic, MSc Arch architect / director Blok74 Rotterdam Built environment
Emmanuel Dike, Urban planner Nigeria
Maruxa Cardama, Communitas Coalition, New York
Benson Diriyai, Bayelsa State, Yenagoa Nigeria
Santiago Pionce, Quito, Ecuador
Eduardo Garcia, Caracas
Sebastian Ochoa, IQConsulting, Quito Ecuador
Andreas Jaeger, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies Kamiyamaguchi Japan
Elisabeth Rapoport, ULI, London UK
Aymar Pirzada, ULI, Francfurt Germany
Donovan Rypkema, Heritages Strategies International


Useful Links:

GAP Constitution:


GAP Final Declaration:

Template and Guidelines:

The City We Need:

Skip to toolbar