Call for Gerd Albers Award 2019

For members only

Background and objectives

The Gerd Albers Award (GAA) was established in 1999 in honour of Professor Gerd Albers, a co-founder and past president of ISOCARP, who placed a particular emphasis on the task of publishing as a means of elucidating both the current debate and practical achievements in the planning field. This reputable award is given for the high-quality academic publications written by ISOCARP members.

Eligible entries

Pertinent submissions include the following publications by ISOCARP members published in the period between July 1, 2018 and June 30, 2019:

  • Books and/or book chapters
  • Journal articles
  • Published project reports

Ineligible entries include exhibition catalogues and/or unpublished reports. Unpublished journal articles are eligible if the publisher’s acceptance letter is attached to the article submitted.

Evaluation criteria


  • Thematic introduction
  • Contribution to discussions on the topic
  • Consistence and coherence (conceptual background, methodological approach)
  • Target audience


  • Clarity
  • Technical requirements
  • Production


All languages are eligible, although the “official languages” of the Society are English, French, German and Spanish. Non-English entries have to be accompanied by an extended abstract in English (min. 3 pages).


The jury is composed of four ISOCARP Scientific Committee members and one ISOCARP Board member. The deliberations and votes of the jury are confidential.

Substance of the Award 

The Award is bestowed in three categories: GAA ‘Best Book’, GAA ‘Best Article’ and Special Mention. The Award winners are announced during the official ceremony at the ISOCARP annual World Planning Congress.

GAA ‘Best Book’ and GAA ‘Best Article’: two years of free membership to ISOCARP, official ISOCARP certification of the award and its dissemination through the ISOCARP website, social media and newsletter.

Special Mention: official ISOCARP certification of the award and its dissemination through the ISOCARP website, social media and newsletter.

Submission material

  1. GAA2019EntryForm
  2. Contribution (book/chapter/article) in pdf format

Application procedure

Online application: Please, send your application to Ana Peric, ISOCARP Director for Awards ( and Balint Horvath, ISOCARP HQ ( Kindly specify the email subject: GAA 2019 Candidature.

Deadline for submission: June 30, 2019

Skip to toolbar