Call for 2020 Gerd Albers Award

[For members-only]


The Gerd Albers Award (GAA) was established in 1999 in honor of Professor Gerd Albers, a co-founder and past president of ISOCARP, who placed a particular emphasis on the task of publishing as a means of elucidating both the current debate and practical achievements in the planning field. This reputable award is given for the high-quality academic publications written by ISOCARP members.

The Award is bestowed in three categories: GAA ‘Best Book’, GAA ‘Best Article’ and Special Mention. The Award winners are announced during the official ceremony at the 56th ISOCARP World Planning Congress in Doha in November 2020.

Eligible entries

Pertinent submissions include the following publications by ISOCARP members published in the period between July 1, 2019, and June 30, 2020:

  • Books and/or book chapters
  • Journal articles
  • Published project reports

Ineligible entries include exhibition catalogs and/or unpublished reports. Unpublished journal articles are eligible if the publisher’s acceptance letter is attached to the article submitted.

How to apply?

Submission material

Each applicant should send 2 files  by email including:

  1. GAA 2020 Entry Form
  2. Contribution (book/chapter/article) in pdf format

Application procedure

Please, send your application by email to Ana Peric, ISOCARP Director for Awards ( and Anna Klimczak, ISOCARP Head Office (

Kindly include in the email subject line: GAA 2020 Candidature.

Registration fee

There is no registration fee.

Selection and reward

The Jury, composed of members from the Board and Scientific Committee, will evaluate applications according to the following criteria:


  • Thematic introduction
  • Contribution to discussions on the topic
  • Consistency and coherence (conceptual background, methodological approach)
  • Target audience


  • Clarity
  • Technical requirements
  • Production


  • English, French, German and Spanish
  • Entries written in another language have to be accompanied by an extended abstract in English (min. 3 pages).

The rewards for the GAA ‘Best Book’ and GAA ‘Best Article’ are two years of free individual memberships to the Society; official certification of the GA Award; dissemination through the Society’s website, social media, and newsletter.

The reward for the ‘Special Mention‘ is an official certification of the GA Award; dissemination through the Society’s website, social media, and newsletter.


The deadline for submission is J̶u̶n̶e̶ ̶3̶0̶,̶ ̶2̶0̶2̶0̶  July 31, 2020 (extended).

Skip to toolbar